Better Than a Date with Ned Hickson

Book Review: “Humor at the Speed of Life” by Ned Hickson

tom on the toiletI am Tom Nardone, and I just spent a week with Ned Hickson. I don’t know what you did last week but it was not as much fun as the time Ned and me had. Let me tell you what a great host he was.

Ned figuratively took me to places, and showed me things I never knew existed. He took me from the scene of the removal of a giant, dead, beached whale, to the set of a country music video. He took me to the United States Olympic Winter Games in Utah. He managed to cover this with me in detail. The amazing part of this is he was never there himself. I still can’t figure out how he did this.

I will say without a doubt, my favorite place we went was on a guided tour of what is arguably the Holy Grail of automobiles. No, I am not kidding. Ned took me on board the Oscar Meyer Wiener Mobile. I don’t know what he did to find himself so well connected in the automobile industry, but he did not even seem to think it was that big of a deal. If Ned Hickson took his dates to half the places he took me during his single years, he must have had the ladies standing in line for him.

Ned did not just take me to special places; he taught me things about the world. He spent time teaching me about the dangers of static electricity, and exploding cell phones, and he gave me tips and advice on how to avoid such dangers. He told me of the future of space travel, and how in the future we will be able to fly all the way, around the earth. He let me know about all the things to look out for and how much money I should expect to pay for such a flight.

He told me about exciting new products such as gecko-tape. Ned would not discuss it, but I think he is somehow connected with NASA. I probably should not talk much about this any further.

Ned and I did not actually go to those places or anywhere for that matter. They were in his book. Ned has written a book called “Humor at the Speed of Life” I read his book, and I found out he cares an awful lot about me.

It isn’t just me he for whom he cares. I think Ned cares about everyone, who has purchased his book. I will tell you something Ned does for all of the readers of “Humor at the speed of life” He does incredibly stupid things, but he doesn’t do them because he is stupid. He does stupid things for two reasons. One reason he does them, is he loves us. The other reason is so we don’t have to go through life not knowing of the true dangers found in places we would never ever suspect. I will give my favorite example.

He wore an eight hundred degree onion ring as a chinstrap, which caused him to scream like a little girl as he drove down the I-5. I struggled with this one for a while and asked myself, why a man would do such a thing. The answer is because he loves us. I don’t know if I love anyone enough to do that, but If I ever find myself with a hot order of onion rings and get the inclination to wear one as a chin strap, I believe because of the things I learned from Ned, I will decide against it.

I do not wish to give too much away, but you could do worse than to get a copy of “Humor at the Speed of Life” If you do you will have a reference book on life for which there is no equal, anywhere in the world. One of the most amazing things I noticed is how he was able to be so funny and he did not even use a single cuss word. To my mind, that alone makes him a magician.

In addition to Ned being a writer, he is a, hunter, fisherman, accomplished do-it-yourselfer, a fireman, and he can throw cheese curds farther than anyone I have ever seen. As far as athletics, well you just pick the sport and Ned will take you to school on this as well.

Yes, you do indeed get the whole package when you get Ned Hickson. After the education I received from the pages of this book, I can only scarcely imagine how I was able to survive this planet, not knowing the things I only just learned.

It is your life though, so you decide. You can either, roll the dice, or you can point, click and wait for “Humor at the Speed of Life” or as I like to call it, “Earth’s User Manual” because every day you spend without it, you are putting your own life at risk.

I am Tom Nardone, and you are welcome.

  • tomboyYou can join the I Am Tom Nardone Facebook Group by clicking HERE.
  • Or you can enter you email address at the top of this page and click the button that says “BE AWESOME” 
  • Or you could risk never hearing from me again and go through life without the benefit of my counsel, but what would be the fun in that
12 thoughts on “Better Than a Date with Ned Hickson

    1. @iamtomnardone Post author

      HAHA Eden thank you so much for the kind words. Ned and I are tight, and I could not me more happy or proud for him with his new book. I am also glad you thought well of the picture. My wife has yet to see it and I cant decide if I want to see her reaction enough to show her or if it is worth the drama that could unfold as a result. I am glad the photo is now on Neds blog so i can just tell her it is too late

      Like

      Reply
  1. Jade Reyner

    Sounds like a book I may just have to read. I too cannot imagine how I have lived to this ripe old age without knowing about hot onion rings on the I-5.! Great review Tom. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thoughts and Rants in Jogging Pants

    Tom Nardone….. what makes me laugh about this is that you have all these pictures attaching your face on other people’s bodies or cartoons of people’s bodies to show all of these wild and different situations…….then when it comes time to show a picture of you reading a book on the can, we get the full Tom, Iron Maiden shirt and all!!! You couldn’t find a cartoon of that? Peculiar choice, but rather than question your wisdom, I’m gonna trust your judgement 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. ksbeth

    i will be spending the week with him as well, when i get my own copy in my little hands. that ned guy, he really gets around. and he’s pretty funny too. nice pic, i had no idea you were a king, tomnardone, who had his own throne.

    Like

    Reply

BE AWESOME

