Telemarketers, I Am Begging You All. Come Back!!

 

tommyIt doesn’t happen so much anymore. Telemarketers calling you at your home at night between 6pm-9pm, asking for you to join something, or buy something. I can’t begin to describe how much I miss that.

I know many of you find that odd. I would say to you that your attitude toward it is flawed. I believe that the world is a stage, and when that phone would ring, it was like the lights going out, the curtain rolls up and the music ques for “The Tom Nardone Show”

In my entire life, I have never heard a more beautiful sound than that, of my own voice. A sales call was a chance for me to really showcase my awesomeness to a brand new, unsuspecting member of my global audience. I can say anything I can be anyone. It is like a trip back through a childhood make believe wonderland.

Description unavailable

These days it seems that computers do all the work. Machines  call my house with a pre-recorded message. That really is a shame because telemarketers were in my opinion, an untapped source of entertainment.

I did realize that these people were human beings, and they are just trying to support their families. I am also aware that their lives hold a greater purpose than to provide me with entertaining anecdotes, however I work for 8 hours a day.

BUT….To be fair to my family and friends, when I come home from work, I have a very low tolerance for bullshit. I refuse to allow it in my presence.

If I wont take it from my own friends and family, then there is no way in Hell I’m going to allow some stranger to get away with it? SHIT NO! Because I am Tom Nardone, and I am Awesome, and I respect my friends ans family. It is all of them that I will use to justify my assholistic behavior. So now I will present to you “The Tom Nardone Show”

The following are some real life examples of things I have said to real telemarketers.

Olan Mills Photography Studios 

Ring………….Ring…………..Ring
TOM: Hello.
Olan Mills: Yes, is this Mr. Nardone?
TOM: Yes it is.
Olan Mills: Hi Mr. Nardone this is Rachel at Olan Mills Photo Studios, how are you tonight?

Family Photo, Anchorage, AK
TOM: I am wonderful Rachel. How are you?
Olan Mills: I’m fine, Thanks
TOM: what can I do for you?
Olan Mills: We would like to invite you and your family to come down and have a free family portrait taken, with no obligation to buy, and just for coming in you’llreceive a free 5×8 picture at absolutely no cost to you. How does that sound?

TOM: Well Rachel, first off, It was very nice of you to take the time to include my family in what seems to be a pretty amazing opportunity, but my uncle is a photographer, with National Geographic, and he takes all our pictures.
Olan Mills: Wow, National Geographic, I’ll bet you have beautiful family pictures
TOM:Yes they are beautiful. I would go so far as to say they are almost perfect.The only real issue I have with them is that my brother is very insistant that my whole family be photographed naked while squating around a camp fire.

Olan Mills:HA HA HA HA HA HAHA HA HA

Tom: CLICK

I really felt that she was a nice girl. I was not in a bad mood, and i thought that this would give her a nice story to go home and tell her family about. Everybody won and no one was upset in any way. It was a true thing of beauty.

ADT Security Systems

Ring………….Ring…………..Ringburglar tom
TOM: Hello.
ADT: Yes, is this Mr. Nardone?
TOM:Yes it is.
ADT: Hi Mr. Nardone this is Bob at ADT, how are you tonight?
TOM: I am wonderful Bob. How are you?
ADT: I’m fine, Thanks
TOM: what can I do for you?
ADT: I just wanted to call and let you know we will be in your area talking to your neighbors about home security systems. What would be a good time to come by and see you
TOM: Bob I really appreciate the call, but to have one of your security alarms would really present a conflict of interest  for me
ADT: How is that Mr. Nardone?
TOM: I have spent the last 6 years as a professional burglar and as a burglar I don’t think it would be fair to put my self in a position of security, while at the same time depriving others from the same piece of mind that I would be receiving,  But Hey! Let me ask you this. Are you hiring installers? I can think of nothing I could do that would more effectively prepare me than to sharpen my skills, While learning the ins and outs of your security system.
ADT: Sir you are talking about breaking and entering. That is against the law. No. We would not want you as one of our installers

TOM:Bob it sounds like you are judging me. Yes it sounds like you take issue with the way I choose to make my living.

ADT: Well sir, what you do is illegal

TOM: OK  Bob, Point taken. If I am hearing you right, You feel that what I do is illegal. Maybe you think what I do is a disruption to the lives of our community, causing them  to go through an agonizing experience that no one should have to endure. That is what I don’t understand. You are also involved in an illegal act. When you called it was five minutes after the 9:00pm when telemarketers are supposed to cease all calling. I did not judge you for that.

ADT: Uh sir don….(Tom interupts)

Wait Bob. it sounds like both of us have been living our lives in the shadows. We have both been collecting paychecks for causing so many people so much pain. I have an idea, but it is going to require a really big commitment on your part. I put down my crowbar and you put down you phone. Yah that’s what I am saying, I think both of us should quit our jobs. What do you say Bob? Let’s both of us, starting tomorrow, and really make an effort to walk the straight and narrow. Are you with me?

ADT: Shithead!! Click

This was something that I fear I will never again get to experience. I will miss those annoying bastards. I would ask you all to resist the temptation to call me, posing as one of these people. I know your heart is in the right place, but it just wouldnt be the same

I am Tom Nardone, and You Are Welcome!

Related articles

12 thoughts on “Telemarketers, I Am Begging You All. Come Back!!

  1. randall kennedy

    Tom, I appreciate your narcissistic rants. Wow, blogs! What a wonderful medium for

    the self involved. What a fantastic catharsis for the guy with a decent verbal acumen

    and an utter inability to do anything in life but be a complaining sheep. Go get ’em Tom!

    Why stop with telemarketers, Tom ? What about those low life people in the service

    industry? Always expecting tips……. I gotta tip for ya, ” Don’t grow your corn in the winter.”

    Bwaahaaahaa! Damn, maybe I can experience the bliss of people huddling over a

    monitor and telling me how incredibly witty I am……..na I’m too busy living life. And

    screwing with telemarketers, even in jest, is petty. Bet you aint doin the management

    thing, are ya Tom? lol

    Like

    Reply
  2. jadereyner

    You crack me up! Love your posts, always cheer me up. Wish I had your wit and courage on the phone, I usually just hang straight up – either that or leave the phone off the hook for 20 minutes until they realise you’re not coming back!

    Like

    Reply
    1. iamtomnardone Post author

      Hey Jade,

      I hear your plea. I am going to take you under my wing and start you on a path to get you started on your journey to being a hard-ass. The best way to start is when the recordings call your home. Jade when you hear that beep you give them Hell. Use your creativity as a writer. SCREAM at the top of your lungs! UNLEASH HELL JADE!!!!!!

      Then at some point when you are comfortable with that you can feel better about a face to face confrontation.

      Don’t sell yourself short jade. There is evil in us all. I can help you find yours.

      Like

      Reply
    1. iamtomnardone Post author

      I appreciate that Val, While that may be true for random phone calls. It is not true for these damn flashes. I will figure this out and maybe I will write one just for you. I will let you know.

      Like

      Reply
    1. thousandcrumbs

      I was once called up by a lady who passed me a hello and asked how my underwear felt cuz thats what she was selling (male underwear).

      So i asked her how she knew their underwear was better and if she had tried it herself (obviously she had not)

      So here was our deal. If she tried it on and she thought it was as good as she was selling it, she could call me again. I would evaluate with her if that was the truth.

      Unfortunately she never returned the call.

      Like

      Reply

BE AWESOME

